Since my son has just recently started kindergarten, I am really enjoying preparing his lunches and after school snacks. I try to put something fun or really yummy in his lunch every day. Sometimes I bake for purely therapeutic reasons. Last Friday, after his meltdown when I dropped him off at school, I decided to bake a yummy chocolate cake to welcome him home and celebrate his first week at school. I had just enough cocoa to for the cake and frosting, and I could almost taste the sweet, chocolatey goodness of my perfect chocolate cake. Sadly, it didn’t turn out as well as I’d imagined…

Turns out I forgot to add flour!! So after taking a couple of days to lick my wounds and scrape the bottom of my oven, I tried again. This time, I bought cool Spongebob cupcake liners and made some chocolate cupcakes that actually turned out yummy! And they’re the perfect size to stick in a lunchbox!

Here’s a tip: If your cupcakes have soft frosting like mine do, stick them in the freezer for half an hour, then wrap them individually, using freezer paper. Lable and date them, and leave them in the freezer. On they way out the door in the morning, pop a frozen cupcake in your child’s lunchbox. The cupcake will thaw during the morning, but the frosting should stay cold enough that it won’t be too messy when lunch time rolls around. Thanks to my husband’s grandma, Alma, for this tip!

