My son will be starting kindergarten in three weeks! Where has the time gone??!? It seems like just yesterday that I was coming home with a tiny baby boy, terrified and elated at the same time. My heart aches but also swells with pride when I think about how fast he has grown. It it common for mothers to be so torn between to extreme feelings? I dread his first day of school, but at the same time, I know how excited he is, and how much he will learn and grow through his school experiences, and I can’t help but be excited for him.

He had his first eye exam on Saturday, and found out that he has to get glasses. We chose to visit the Opthamologist at Wal-Mart, so I could keep Little Sis busy while Dadd went in the back room with Big Brother. When the exam was done, Little Sis and I went to meet “the boysies” as she calls them. My swet little boy was in tears, after hearing that he’d have to wear glasses! Such a sensitive soul!! We let him pick the coolest glasses available, and did our best to reassure him that he looked super hunky (which he did). I think he’s feeling better now.

Then, yesterday, after hanging on to his old car seat for so long, we convinced him to let us remove the straps so that he could use it as a booster seat. He actually cried! I guess it was too much growing up in two days! It was too much for me too. To make my heartache even more bittersweet, my not-so-little boy turns six on Wednesday!!!

Someday, we’ll get a scanner, and I can show off pics of what a beautiful baby he was. Here’s a photo of him two years ago (look at those chubby cheeks!):

Does every mother experience this intense mixture of happy and sad when her first baby goes off to school???

