I never knew I could harbor hard feelings toward a fresh-from-the-oven, good-smelling loaf of bread!! I’ve changed my  mind after using the automatic timer setting on my bread machine! I awoke with a start at 3 a.m. this morning, thinking something was horribly wrong. What was that awful, vibrating noise?? I’m not the clearest of thinkers in the middle of the night, so I first went over to the air-conditioning unit to see if that was what was causing all that racket. Of course, the a/c wasn’t the culprit. Neither were either of the cell phones. I stood in the living room, stumped. Then I remembered that the bread machine was set to start at 3, so that the loaf would be piping hot and finished at 6 a.m. Boy, I never realized how loud my bread machine was until I tried to fall asleep during the kneading cycle! Then, as soon as my daughter fell back asleep (the machine had woken her up too), the machine beeped several times, signaling the middle of the kneading cycle! Eventually we got back to sleep. Then, at 6, the timer went off when the bread was done! The really ironic thing is that this bread doesn’t taste as good as loaves I’ve made during the day(maybe it’s just me and I’m harboring a grudge?)!! I will never use the automatic timer again!

I’m tired…

