This week, I made a pillow for my stepdad’s birthday. It seems a little dorky, but it refers to an inside, family joke. If you’ve never made a simple pillow, why not try it? It’s super easy (I made my first pillow when I was about 5 years old!), and it can even be accomplished without a sewing machine. Here’ how:

  1. Cut out two pieces of fabric, the same size. Each piece will be one side of the finished pillow.
  2. If you would like your pillow to be more than plain fabric, now is the time to embellish it. I used a freezer paper stencil to spell the words on my pillow, and then I stitched around the edge of the stencil by hand, for a nice finishing touch. Make sure you embellish the side of the pillow that will face out (the right side).
  3. Put your two pieces of fabric together, with the right sides facing each other. Pin in place, so you won’t end up with a funky, misshapen pillow.
  4. Sew a straight stich with your sewing machine, about 1/2 inch around all the edges of the pillow, or sew by hand, using a regular hand stitch. IMPORTANT: DO NOT SEW ALL THE WAY AROUND THE PILLOW! Leave an opening about four inches wide, so that you can stuff the pillow!
  5. Turn the pillow right side out. Press to make the edges look really nice.
  6. Stuff your pillow with cotton batting. Make the pillow rather firm, as the stuffing will soften over time, and you don’t want to end up with a flat pillow!
  7. Sew the opening closed by hand.
  8. It’s that simple! Enjoy!
