To me, it makes no sense that there is only one day a year that is set aside for the express purpose of remembering what you’re thankful for. Why save the thankfulness for Thanksgiving? Why not remind yourself every day what you’re thankful for? It makes life a lot sweeter, you can be sure.

Today, I’d like to say my piece about siblings. Where would we be without them? Our brothers and sisters are part of us, and they have helped shape us just as much as parents and teachers have. I am the youngest of six sisters, and I am grateful to my big sisters for the love and lessons they have brought me from birth on. We aren’t exactly what I’d call super close; we don’t talk on the phone that often, but we keep track of each other through e-mail and birthday cards (they are better about sending cards than I am!). I can’t imagine my life without them, and I think that says everything.

I always knew I wanted kids, even when I was a little girl, and I always knew that I wanted more than one child. I did not want to have my child grow up as an only child, never being allowed to enjoy the pleasure of having siblings to play with and love. My kids are three years apart in age, and the best of friends. They do their fair share of arguing, sometimes escalating to teasing and pinching, but that comes along with the territory. It makes my heart melt when they spontaneously hug, or when he “reads” to her, or she calls him her best friend. I will do everything in my power to be sure that they always remain close. If they always have each other, the world will be easier for them to conquer. 🙂

This morning, my boy woke up and cuddled with his sister, and then proceeded to pile stuffed animals on top of her (except over her face, which Mommy wouldn’t allow), much to her delight! Before the stuffed animal mountain came tumbling down, I magaged to get a few snapshots:

 

 

Why not leave a shout-out for your siblings? I’d love to hear about them.

