These are not my favorite memories, but I’m stuck with ’em, whether I like it or not. One of my earliest memories is huddling in the basement with my parents and sisters, with the tornado warning sirens blaring in the distance. I was very little, and crying, because I was scared and didn’t know what was going on.

When I was ten, a tornado touched down a few miles from our home. It took out a few houses and demolished a camping park. We drove by a few days later, and it was hard for me to wrap my mind around the destruction. Huge Burr Oak trees, that were hundreds of years old, had been tossed around and snapped like twigs.

After that day, I have never been able to sleep through a thunder storm, and I still have frequent tornado dreams, especially during tornado season. You may wonder why I still live in “Tornado Alley.” Wel… I’ve come to realize that natural disasters aren’t something you can get away from too easily. No matter where you live, you’re going to run into something, whether it’s mudslides, earth quakes, hurricanes, or forest fires. At least tornadoes are a seasonal disaster.

What do you have nightmares about?

