I have always wanted to be one of those cool moms who handmakes special things for herself and her family. I want to be the mom who can make the most unique Halloween costumes or whip up a tutu in an upon request. I’d love to learn how to crochet, but I don’t have anyone to teach me (If you know of a good learning book for the TOTALLY CLUELESS beginner, I’m all ears!). Luckily, I do have limited sewing skills, and I’ve made a promise to myself that over the next year, I’m going to sharpen those sewing skills, and there’s no better time to start than now! Each week barring injury, illness and family crises, I want to accomplish one handmade good that my children and I can enjoy, and I’m hoping the old saying, “Practice makes perfect” is really true.

 

 

This week, I made a dress for my 2 1/2 year old daughter. It’s not exactly professional enough that I would have her wear it anywhere. For one thing, I didn’t have the right color of thread, and the glaringly obvious seam lines are the result. But, my daughter loves it, and I now know that I can do it! Yay for me!

 

I found the pattern at MakeBabyStuff.comm, and I modified it, making the neckline square, for simplicity’s sake. I’m pretty happy with the way it turned out, if I do say so myself! If I keep practicing, I think I can easily make some pretty good stuff before too long.

Anyone out there have any good advice for a novice sewer?

